Growing up is tough. You can find refuge here.

Things need to change


When I was in second grade I had to get glasses.  No one else in my class had them.  As it was I had a profound overbite.  I did not need something else to draw attention to myself.  Yet there I was.  The only kid in my class with “four-eyes”.

In the fourth grade – I got bloody lips.  These two girls would follow me home (I had to walk about 5 blocks).  When they caught me one time, they hit me and split my lip open.

I got cornered in bathrooms, laughed at about things that I didn’t do, shoved, picked on and singled out.

It’s something we all have had to endure at some point in our lives.  It’s been that way for decades.

BUT THINGS NEED TO CHANGE.

We can no longer stand aside and watch these things happen!  We have got to start getting involved.  It really does not take much.  If we are driving down the street and there are kids ganging up on another kid, we need to stop.  Those kids are not going to hurt us.  If we are afraid they might, pull over and watch them while you call the police. We can’t just look at this as “kids being kids” anymore.

To a young person that is bullied, just a smile or kind word can make a huge difference.  I’ve posted before that words indeed do hurt, they can also lift up.  YOUR WORDS COULD SAVE A LIFE.

Let’s not stand aside and watch anymore.  We can make a difference.

Leave a Reply

